The Gustav Freiwald House*
This Irvington landmark was constructed in 1906 for Gustav E. Freiwald, owner of the Star Brewery in Portland. Born in Germany, Freiwald operated breweries and taverns in towns all along the Columbia River, from Hood River to Astoria.
The unique style of the house, featuring a Craftsman form and Queen Anne detailing is possibly the synthesis of two different architects. Freiwald rejected the first design he commissioned, by the well-known local architect Emil Schacht. Although we don't know what Schacht's design looked like, he favored the strong and simple Arts and Crafts and Craftsman styles, which were then coming into vogue (View Home Tour examples from 2001 and 2003). Freiwald turned then to a relatively obscure young architect named H. H. Menges to redesign the house in the more ostentatious and ornamental Queen Anne style, which was stylistically obsolete by this time. The result is the architectural blend we see today. For more details on the architectural history, see the listing for this house in the National Register section of this site.
The exterior of the building features an octagonal turret, a wide wrap-around porch with Ionic columns, and a large dormer with an arched window and balcony, all Queen Anne conventions.
The interior of the Freiwald House has spacious rooms more typical of an Arts and Crafts house. As you will see from the photos, large openings lead from the grand entry hall into the front parlor and on to the living room and dining room. These opening create expansive vistas from one end of the house to the other... a characteristic rarely found in the earlier Queen Anne Victorian style homes.
Freiwald and his family lived in the house until 1923. For a while it languished as a boarding house, but in 1993 it was beautifully renovated into a bed and breakfast. Today it still serves the community as the very popular Lion and Rose Bed and Breakfast through the hard work of its current owners who acquired it in 2002. (The owners have kindly opened the house to the frequent meetings of the Irvington Home Tour Committee during the 6 months of preparation for each year's Tour.)
Despite the renovations necessary for commercial use, the house still feels grand and gracious. The front room was originally the men's parlor, while the middle parlor was for the ladies. The home is decorated in the rich patterns and deep colors favored in the Victorian era.
* This is the "Historic Name" given to this home when it was placed on the National Register of Historic Places.